All of a sudden I have a glut of new music. Which is a good thing, of course. Sadly, it’s still all singles; no good album releases today, at least that I’ve seen so far. I did add two more exciting releases to April and May this week, so spring promises to be a beast.

“Always Ascending” – Franz Ferdinand. Not crazy about their new album, but this song, after its slow build, hits all the right FF spots: ass-shakin’ indie rock.

“The Day Will Be Mine” – Sloan. I love power pop, but for some reason I’ve never listened to Sloan very much. This is a fine song, so I may have to finally dive in when their new album hits in April.

“Notes on a Life Not Quite Lived” – Mastersystem. Holy out-of-nowhere! A Scottish super group that is right up my alley! Scott and Grant Hutchison of Frightened Rabbit joined by brothers Justin and James Lockey, of Editors and Minor Victories. It opens up like an early FR track, but then they take it in a completely unexpected, kick ass, almost grungy direction. Pretty excited to hear the entire album in April.

“Shiny One” – Belly. To the immense joy to those of us who loved Belly back in the mid-90s, the first single off their comeback album has finally arrived. And it is pretty good. Hints of the 90s without sounding only of that era. Their album is out in May.

“Make Me Feel” – Janelle Monáe. God damn! Ms. Monáe is back, channeling Prince in so many ways in this amazing track and video. There are some NSFW lyrics and images in here, so caution.